The Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation (HGCF) supports the Entrepreneurship Initiative (EI) to foster entrepreneurship education among participating colleges and universities in the region.

Many students have a true entrepreneurial spirit. The EI informs, supports, and inspires student entrepreneurs. Equally important, it recognizes and awards students for their entrepreneurial spirit and exemplary business plans.

The EI is funded through the HGCF and is championed by a committee of faculty advisors from 12 participating area colleges:

College/University Faculty
American International College Prof. Marshall Epstein
Amherst College Dean Urusula Olender
Bay Path College Dr. Lauren J. Way
The Elms College Prof. Kerry Calnan & Dr. David Kimball
Greenfield Community College Prof. Thom Simmons
Hampshire College Prof. Colin Twitchell, Prof. Megan Briggs, Ben Einstein HC ’08
Holyoke Community College Prof. Ellen Majka
Mt. Holyoke College Dr. Steve Schmeiser
Smith College Ms. Rene Heavlow & Prof. Susannah Howe
Springfield College Dr. Robert Fiore
Springfield Technical Community College Prof. Diane Sabato
UMass Isenberg School of Management
and Entrepreneurship Initiative
Mr. Paul Silva, Dr. Robert Hyres,
and Dr. Jim Theroux
Western New England University Dr. James C. McKeon
Westfield State University Dr. Bradford Knipes

Grinspoon, Garvey & Young Entrepreneurship Conference
“Think Big, Start Small”
October 28, 2011
Read the Event Details >>


Cari Carpenter
Director, Entrepreneurship Initiative